Every Day Life | Half Empty With The Lid Off

Yesterday morning I sat at my friend’s kitchen counter, one foot crossed under me and the other resting on the bottom bar of the stool. In front of me was a cup of coffee, half empty with the lid off.

He sat next to me and asked me again, “What do you want?”

I looked at him and laughed, what I want isn’t realistic.

Suddenly, there was a pad of paper and a pen in front of me on the counter. “Write your list.”

No.

“Why? Does writing it down mean it’s set in stone? How long is life?”

What kind of question is that!?

“Exactly, you don’t know. So you have to do the things you want now, while you can. I think you worry about what other people think but it doesn’t matter what they think. It only matters what you think.”

I didn’t write my list yesterday, but I promised I’d go back and write it this week. I thanked him later in the day with two simple words: thank you. And he knew that I was thanking him with those two words for being the friend to push me, for standing by my side and telling me I can do anything I put my mind too. For calling bullshit on me when he knows I’m just afraid, for letting me sit at his kitchen counter, one foot crossed under me and the other resting on the bottom bar of the stool. In front of me a cup of coffee, half empty with the lid off….

2013-02-19_0001

Leave a Reply

