How Long Does It Take to Change?

“Do you ever wonder how long it takes to change your life? What measure of time is enough to be life altering? Is it four years like high school? One year? An eight week rock tour? Can your life change in a month, or a week, or a single day? We’re always in a hurry to grow up, to go places, to get ahead. And when you’re young, one hour can change everything.”

– Anonymous

Change is something we all have to face but no one really wants to. To change our ways, sometimes means to change ourselves. And to change ourselves isn’t easy. As someone who feels everything through my heart, I especially know how challenging change can be. Changing means giving up a routine, a pattern, a friend, to lose our footing in something we were once sure of. Changing means giving up something and letting go, it means moving on and struggling. For some people, change shuts them down. They hide deeper and deeper in themselves so that they can’t feel the emotions that come with the change.

Personally, I love change. And I hate it. I’m always up for something new but when my emotions come into play I hate change. I have to fight to figure out a way in the newest change, and challenge. I have to find myself all over again in a different way. I have to adjust to my surroundings and accept it. I have to trust that everything will work out. Just because something changes, it doesn’t mean it’s for the worst.

So here’s to CHANGE. A fresh start. A new beginning. A challenge. And life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

